Forbidden love

The brain knows it’s not a good idea. Logical and reason are hard to ignore, but the heart. Oh the silly heart. It wants what it wants. Maybe knowing that I was deliberately reducing our interactions increased the excitement. Absence makes the heart grow fonder right? Or maybe I am just crazy.  The rush of it all, all these feelings, so foreign yet so familiar. If you haven’t figured it out, I am talking about the greatest love story in my life. Well more accurately the only love story of my life. Coffee.

I have stayed away from it for quite a while, for the sake of sleep and trying cut out caffeine but today my heart won. I had a cup. The anticipation as the strong, smooth liquid reached my lips and teased my tongue. The taste, the smell, the warmth, it was perfect. The world whizzed past around me I sat there savoring what truly is God’s gift to humankind. For a brief few moments, nothing mattered. Just me and my coffee.

My passion for coffee is a longstanding one. Can’t put my finger on what it is about coffee (probably the caffeine) that evokes such strong emotions. Unfortunately in keeping with the love aspect of my life, tragedy, I only have a fleeting affair with coffee these days. We will have our day together again soon, but till then I will have to hold on to the memories of today.

12 thoughts on “Forbidden love

    • Oh the struggle to stay away from your 1 true love. I don’t want to totally stop coffee though. Just heavily moderate my consumption of it, but I I am not doing a great job of that :p

Leave a Reply

