Off switch

Okay so after the little break in the last post, we’re back to depression central here. I was really looking forward to this Friday. I was supposed to have the day off and I was planning to take my nephew to this aquarium thingy they have here. I have banned other family members from doing it because it was my idea and so I want to be the first person to take him there. But guess what the new girl quit. Now the off/leave situation is sketchy. No more off for working weekends. And our leave will get frozen.

There are exceptions though. Of the remaining 4 of us, 2 have young children/really old parents so it seems to be acceptable for them to take off. The other guy, he’s new and he apparently bought airfare before he joined out team so he’s taken stretches of leave 3 times. Including over the last weekend. Guess who has only had 1 long weekend and not taken any leave this year? It’s annoying when you feel you are being punished for giving it your all.

It might seem like not a big deal, the plan can get pushed. Just reschedule. But I don’t think people realise how much I look forward to these little things. I seriously don’t have much else going on in life. Especially if the plans involve other people. I am so sick for doing things myself. I realised that when I contemplated going to the movies alone the other day, while having a dinner for 1.

I am going to try and take Friday as annual leave instead of an off for working on the weekend and see if that works. Strongly doubt it, but hope for the best right?

One thought on “Off switch

  1. ” But I don’t think people realise how much I look forward to these little things. I seriously don’t have much else going on in life. Especially if the plans involve other people. I am so sick for doing things myself”.

    Anita, I feel like you stole those words directly from my brain… :)

Leave a Reply

