Plans fail

So I had this plan. I wanted my next post (i.e. this one) to be about this dream house I have built in my head. I don’t know why I have been thinking so much of my dream house. I even gathered pictures and had a floorplan in my head to draw up to post. But I realised 2 things. A, I keep changing my mind about the details of the house and B, no one cares. I am probably just having The Block withdrawal symptoms. Besides, that dream house I have in my head is a loft apartment, with high ceilings. Probably doesn’t exist in Singapore. If it does it would be priced in the millions. I might be able to afford it overseas but looks like I am stuck in this place for good. Maybe I can go build one for myself in some remote part of the world. Let’s see. Maybe a huge sum of money will fall into my lap tomorrow.

Work has been crazy. Lots of people on leave, so been covering them. Have a new boss coming in next week. I hope he’s nice. Late Friday evening, I learnt that we might be losing some business due to a report I submitted to the customer. I reported figures, that were cold hard fact and sent to the bosses to vet first. So now I have gotten dragged into sales discussion which I was promised I will not be involved in when I joined. Beyond my pay grade to be worrying about this. But I got a bunch of additional reports to prepare by Monday. Any guesses how I spent my weekend? And to add to this, next weekend, I have to work, on my mom’s birthday. I haven’t done much on the birthday party prep. And I am in-charge of games. I think I will be finalising all that over my lunch times. If I even get time for those. Last thursday and friday I didn’t get a chance to have lunch. It was busy. Despite that, I got a text yesterday questioning why I am behind on my emails. Bright and early, Saturday morning a text that just ruins your entire day.

Plus I am broke. Really broke this month. And my sister is planning a grand celebration for my mom that’s going to be setting me back quite a bit. And the mother’s day lunch today. My sister picked the place (I didn’t like the food, service was great though), and it was pricey. She and her husband, order food like they live the lifestyles of the rich and famous and then she decided we split the bill 2 ways. It reminded me of that episode of Friends. You know the one where Phoebe, Joey & Rachel eat the least expensive stuff on the menu and have to divide the bill equally in the end? Oh well at least my eggs & toast brought the bill down. And I will survive. Just have to make it to pay day. Never letting my sister pick the place again though. Now I am a bit worried about what she has planned for my mom’s birthday. I have asked her to send me her plan/list numerous times but she has yet to do it. Just have to be prepared for the worst but hope for the best as usual.

I also realise with some people/friends that they only have time for you when they need you. Why are people so selfish? Is it innate human behaviour and I am the one who’s missing the picture?

Wish me luck to get through the next couple of weeks. I really need it.

3 thoughts on “Plans fail

  1. Whatever happens, enjoy your mom’s birthday. For years I’ve always had to work on Mother’s Day and one year I put my foot down and said no because what if it was the last one I had with her? How would I feel about the that? It sounds morbid, but it turns out it was the last one. She died a few months later from ALS. She was diagnosed that July and died in November.

    I share this not to bring you down, but to encourage you to find hope and love where you can. Don’t let work or petry people rob you of the good in life.

    If you email me your address I’ll be happy to send you some money (paypal) so you can enjoy a simple dinner with your mom without worrying about how to pay for it. It won’t be a lot, but at least it can be your special time with her. I had to work yesterday because of some nonsense when all I wanted to do was stay in bed and cry. I would give anything to have her again. So please just enjoy you time with her.

    I hope today is a better day for you.

  2. Whatever happens, enjoy your mombirthday. For years I’ve always had to work on Mother’s Day and one year I put my foot down and said no because what if it was the last one I had with her? How would I feel about the that? It sounds morbid, but it turns out it was the last one. She died a few months later from ALS. She was diagnosed that July and died in November.

    I share this not to bring you down, but to encourage you to find hope and love where you can. Don’t let work or petry people rob you of the good in life.

    If you email me your address I’ll be happy to send you some money (paypal) so you can enjoy a simple dinner with your mom without worrying about how to pay for it. It won’t be a lot, but at least it can be your special time with her. I had to work yesterday because of some nonsense when all I wanted to do was stay in bed and cry. I would give anything to have her again. So please just enjoy you time with her.

    I hope today is a better day for you.

    • I am sorry about your mom. I am broke but I am still okay. Had some additional medical expenses last month that added up. I figured thay out today. I will be fine, just have to survive till pay day. Thank you very much for the offer though, it’s nice to know there are amazingly helpful people like you in the world :) And yes, I don’t take my parents for granted. No one else can love you like they do.

Leave a Reply

