God & the universe

This post is to highlight, like I have done before on the relationship I have with God and the universe. And in order to do this, let me tell you about tonight at home, with my extended family. My mother has her brothers and their wives over for karaoke night. Before you think, sounds like a fun bunch, let me tell you that I think the singing/tuning gene has missed most of my extended family. I would rather spend the night listening to nails being dragged across a chalkboard.

So as my uncle was trying to set up the karaoke system, I was trying to think about what I could do to escape the madness. Look, I am no party pooper, but I have to be up early for work tomorrow and was looking forward to a quiet night in before that. Back to the story. To my great pleasure, despite tirelessly trying my uncle could not get the video feed sorted and eventually proclaimed there was nothing more he could do to make it work. At that point I closed my eyes and said in my head, “Oh God thank you! I owe you one. This is one of those moments that I am reassured of your existence”. And then, timed perfectly with me opening my eyes, the screen miraculously lit up with the karaoke feed to the sheer delight of everyone around me. All that was missing was a chuckle and God telling me “Gotcha!”. Why does the universe toy with me so?

I am sure I have posted this quote before but I am posting it again. It’s what comes to mind as I get ready for bed in my room, while there is what sounds like a choir of possessed cats in the living room.

“Forgive, O Lord, my little jokes on Thee, and I’ll forgive Thy great big joke on me.” – Robert Frost.

I wonder if it’s late enough for me to call the neighbourhood police on them for noise disruption. I wonder if they will take a complaint from inside the same house seriously.  :D

Maybe God creates people and assigns them lives based on genre. Like action/adventure, drama, feel-good, family/children. In my case, it’s mostly comedy with a dash fantasy (applicable to my love life). When I say comedy, I am not laughing, anyone watching my life would be, just to be clear.

One thought on “God & the universe

  1. Pingback: Joke in the Box | Because Life Happens

Leave a Reply

