Australians

I know someone that recently came back from a holiday in Australia. She was complaining that she felt racism there. I don’t really know how Australians got to be known as discriminating based on race but in all the time I have spent I have never felt it. But I have spent about 3 years-ish there. My sister who’s been there 11 years and my aunt’s family, 30 years have said they don’t see it either. I personally think they are a really accepting bunch. Anyway, this person, is part of the racial majority here. What I have observed is that those who are part of a racial majority, tend to be extra sensitive to remarks/behaviours that maybe be racially offensive. It’s a bit paradoxical, but at least in the context of my part of the world, I think it’s true.

Speaking of Australians, I have previously posted a list of things that will miss about Australia but I have missed out these 2 guys – Hamish and Andy. They are just crazy. I nearly cried while watching their latest Gap Year episode.  I need to start downloading their radio show podcasts again.

7 thoughts on “Australians

  1. I’m the racial majority where I’m at. I’m good with racial jokes at my expense. I find our racism paradoxical in that if I were to make a comment, it’s racist. If someone of that race makes the same comment, it’s them celebrating their diversity and oppression. Double standards are exhausting.

    Also, I just think as a world, we’re super sensitive to anything “racist.” Half the time it’s not. “I think your political ideology is stupid!” “Racist!” But that person thinks everyone of the same line of thinking is stupid. Stupid world.

    • As I mentioned , I can only speak from my experience with my friends and the people here. I just get annoyed that they ignore the race issues here and get all up in arms when they face it overseas.

      I do agree though. It’s true there maybe some degree of double standards and we can be super sensitive these days.

  2. Speaking as an Australian, I’m not surprised foreigners find our country accepting when it’s really not. From our complicated history with our indigenous people, to the modern day politics centred over refugees, our attitudes towards race are appallingly backwards. The tension is still there; we’re apparently just very good at hiding it.

  3. I’m Australian. And I’m also in the racial minority, being Asian. I think most Australians, especially Caucasians, are accepting of other races, or at the very least tolerant and not openly hostile. But racism is very much alive over here, only it’s much more subtle, but it’s there. A bus driver might reply cheerfully to a ‘Thank you!’ from a Caucasian student, and ignore an Indian student when they say the same. And considering our dark history, well. It’s hard to effect change when a racial majority calls the works and pulls the strings, if you know what I mean, and racial minorities just have to make do as best as they can, perhaps putting a little more work. But, in reply to your post, yes. Racism is very much alive, only hidden, an undercurrent. It makes me sad.

    • Again I haven’t lived there long term so I can’t really comment. I definitely understand it’s not easy being part of a minority anywhere. I just think its worse where I am from then over there. At least you guys discuss fairly openly. Over here things are swept under the rug. My point basically was that the majority here, refuse to acknowledge problems here and but are quick to judge/comment on the behaviour of people elsewhere.

  4. Well I can only speak for myself, I know I’m not racist. If I think you’re an idiot it doesn’t matter which race you are. Or if I like you same deal. But being from the country there are many sayings bandied about that are racist……but as they have never been used in that context around me I sometimes don’t even know they are. Some I’ve learnt over the years but some I’m sure I haven’t! Plenty of room for horrible embarrassment and no one believes you’ve made a genuine mistake :(

Leave a Reply

