Jobs and hunting them

I started job hunting around October. But at that time I my head was in a magical wonderland where I could work anywhere around the world without visas and stuff. I was full on applying for jobs in Australia at that point. And i did get a few call backs and went for interviews but unfortunately no one was willing to hire me and sponsor a visa. So by that token, I guess I kind of started realistic job hunting yesterday. By realistic I mean applying for jobs in Singapore. I was telling myself I would start earlier after revamping my resume. But procrastinated and finally only did it yesterday. And that too because I saw a job advertised that I really want. I am qualified for it and think I can do well in that position so now I am praying that they call me back.

I have to say the thought for re-joining the workforce here isn’t great. I am not looking forward to waking up at 6am and fighting my way on a crowded train to get to an office where I am until 7 or 8 at night before coming back home in time just to have dinner, have a shower and sleep. No more free time to slack off. On the positive side I will have an income which means I should be able to start travelling ans going on short trips again. Anyway, if anyone hiring a hospitality, tourism, events  or marketing professional  (this is a non-exhaustive list) anywhere in the world is reading this, please do let me know and I will send you my resume :p.

7 thoughts on “Jobs and hunting them

  1. Best of luck in your job hunt! I know how stressful and impatient you can get whilst anxiously waiting for a callback. Always remember that these things take weeks and sometimes months until any kind of feedback after a resume submission, so keep your chin up and hopefully, everything will work out perfectly fine. Good luck!! :)

  2. As a fellow job hunter, I definitely understand want you mean by idealistically vs. realistically job hunting. My mentor gave me a piece of advice that I’m going to share with you: the most important part of searching for a job is to remain optimistic and to always be prepared for the opportunity you’ve been waiting for to come along. Good luck!

  3. Hi Anita,
    In some ways I’m thrilled you feel happy enough to be looking at a future in Singapore……and in others it’s making me sad, I want you back here in Aus! I want you to have your dream :(
    So anyway I’m both happy and sad for you ;) I hope you haven’t given up on your dream.
    Vanessa

Leave a Reply

